pauri garhwal-3
pauri garhwal-4
  • October 8, 2022 10:56 am
  • Uttarakhand

Through the ages, the evolution of human civilization in the Garhwal Himalayan has been parallel to the rest of Indian sub-continent. Katyuri was the first historical dynasty, which rule over unified Uttarakhand and left some important records in the form of inscriptions and temples. In later period after the downfall of Katyuri’s, it is believed that Garhwal region was fragmented in more than sixty-four principalities ruled by the Chieftain, one of the principal Chieftainship was Chandpurgarh, which was ruled by descendent of Kanakpal.

In the mid of 15th century A.D. Chandpurgarh emerged as a powerful principality under the rule of Jagatpal (1455 to 1493 A.D.), who was a descendent of Kanakpal. In the fag end of 15th century Ajaypal enthroned the Chandpurgarh and succeeded in unifying and consolidating various principalities on the region with in a Kingdom and his Kingdom came to known as Garhwal. Subsequently, he had transferred his capital from Chandpur to Devalgarh before 1506 and later on to Srinagar during 1506 to 1519 A.D.

Adorned in the undisturbed vistas of the beguiling Garhwal Himalayas, lies the city of Pauri. It is enclosed by the thick woodlands and the benevolent snow-clad hills that appear like a silver tiara.

Pauri is the headquarters of the district Pauri Garhwal and also the Garhwal division. Some of the popular tourist attractions in and around Pauri are Khirsu, Doodhatoli, Jwalpa Devi Temple, Kandoliya Temple, Devprayag, Chaukhamba View Point, Kyunkaleshwar Mahadev Temple and Tarkeshwar Mahadev Temple.


List of Districts in Uttarakhand
3.Udham Singh Nagar
5.Pauri Garhwal
7.Tehri Garhwal



Pauri Garhwal,246001,Uttarakhand

Leave a Reply

Leave feedback about this